Community

how to go gluten free

Foods made from grains (and grain-like plants) that do not contain harmful gluten, including:

Corn in all forms (corn flour, cornmeal, grits, etc.)
Plain rice in all forms (white, brown, wild, basmati, enriched rice, etc.)
Amaranth, arrowroot, buckwheat (kasha), cassava, flax, millet, quinoa, sorghum, soy, tapioca, teff, polenta and fonio
Flours made from gluten-free grain, nuts, beans and coconut, including buckwheat flour, millet flour, almond flour, chickpea flour, amaranth flour, brown rice flour and coconut flour. Look for products labeled gluten free to avoid cross-contamination.
Gluten-free ingredients:

Gluten-free ingredients:

Annatto, glucose syrup, lecithin, maltodextrin (even when it is made from wheat), oat gum, silicon dioxide, starch and food starch. Also citric, lactic and malic acids as well as sucrose, dextrose and lactose; and these baking products: arrowroot, cornstarch, guar and xanthan gums, tapioca flour or starch, potato starch flour and potato starch, vanilla.

The following foods:

Milk, butter, margarine, real cheese, plain yogurt and most ice cream without gluten-containing add-ins
Vegetable oils, including canola
Plain fruits, vegetables (fresh, frozen and canned), meat, seafood, potatoes, eggs, nuts, nut butters, beans and legumes
Distilled vinegar is gluten free. (See “malt vinegar” under NO, below.)
Distilled alcoholic beverages are gluten free because distillation effectively removes gluten. They are not gluten free if gluten-containing ingredients are added after distillation, but this rarely happens.
Mono and diglycerides are gluten-free fats.
Spices are gluten free. If there is no ingredient list on the container, it contains only the pure spice noted on the label. However, be aware that spices and seasonings are two different things. See below for more information on seasonings, which may contain gluten.