A heeling treatment using a needles?

As a family physician, I occasionally have the opportunity to see 3 generations of one family in the same examination room. I also, on occasion, am blessed to bear witness to tender moments that hint at some ineffable aspect of healing. Today I was to encounter both.

My patient, a 30-year old woman sitting quietly but despondently on the examination table, is accompanied by her grey-haired, stern-faced mother ensconced in the corner chair and her shy, 8-year old daughter, who looks at me with large, soft brown eyes. Bouts of depression have buffeted this woman’s life as she has tried to weather a failed marriage and subsequent divorce. Ongoing criticism and judgment by her conservative mother, who is plagued by worry and concern, and the multiple challenges of being a single parent and breadwinner have worn her down. Her daughter knows in an intuitive way mommy is not quite well, and I know through clinical experience what profound effects depression can have on the well-being of a child and a family.

I want to help. So we have tried various medications, some with side effects, some seeming to work; we have tried counseling, which has served as a supportive sounding board; we have tried exercise and nutrition; we have checked her laboratory values. Despite best intentions, her work schedules, domestic duties, and insurance issues have stymied our efforts and any noticeable progress. Her growing reluctance to use medication led us to explore other nonpharmacologic approaches. Having been trained in acupuncture, I offered a trial. After discussing the philosophy and techniques, she agreed to give it a try, and she responded well.