emt training what you need to know

All states require EMTs to be licensed; however, licensing requirements vary by state and EMT level. Becoming licensed entails formal training at the EMT-Basic, EMT-Intermediate, or EMT-Paramedic level. Training programs vary from 2-6 months and are available at emergency medical service academies, community colleges, technical schools, and universities. These programs help prepare aspiring EMTs for the appropriate National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians (NREMT) certification exam.

EMT-Basic Training

EMT-Basic is the minimum level of certification for a career in emergency medical services. Training courses typically include 100 hours of training in urgent situations, such as cardiac and respiratory emergencies, childbirth, and major disasters. Instruction may cover human anatomy, lifting and moving bodies, airway management, blood stoppage, trauma management, and patient assessment. Some programs provide training in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR), while others require students to hold CPR certification before admission.

EMT-Intermediate Training

Intermediate-level certification is divided into EMT-Intermediate 1985 and EMT-Intermediate 1999 classifications. Depending on the state, EMT-Intermediate training programs are comprised of 30-350 hours of classroom and clinical instruction. These programs focus on more in-depth instruction in life support care. Students may learn advanced principles of trauma management, medication administration, and intravenous treatment. Internships may be required to complete these programs.

EMT-Paramedic Training

The highest level of emergency service training is EMT-Paramedic. Paramedic-level training programs can take up to two years to complete and lead to certificates or associate’s degrees in EMT-Paramedic. Associate of Applied Science in EMT-Paramedic programs incorporate general education with emergency-specific training. Core courses may range from medical terminology to emergency service management and psychology. These programs also incorporate field training and clinical practicums.

Certification and Licensure

After completion of a training program, candidates must pass the respective NREMT certification exam. Though some states administer their own licensing exams, most accept passage of a certification exam administered by the NREMT. The NREMT offers separate exams for each level of EMT certification, and each exam is comprised of both a written, competency portion and a practical demonstration portion. EMTs must renew certification every 2-3 years by earning continuing education credits and passing a recertification exam.